The Best Kids Ministry Curriculum for 2026: A Real Comparison for Small Churches
Choosing kids ministry curriculum is one of the highest-stakes decisions a volunteer coordinator or bivocational pastor makes all year. Get it right, and Sunday mornings run themselves: teachers walk in prepared, kids stay engaged, and the Bible actually lands. Get it wrong, and you are rewriting lessons at midnight on Saturday, most weeks, for a full year.
Most churches searching for this are small, often under 150 kids on a Sunday, sometimes under 50, with a handful of volunteers doing their best between other jobs. Most “best curriculum” roundups online are written with megachurches in mind, paid staff and dedicated budgets, and they rarely say so out loud.
This guide is different. It compares the real options on the market today, prices, formats, and honest trade-offs, including where SundayReady itself falls short, so you can decide based on your church’s actual size and volunteer capacity, not a ranking built for someone else’s ministry.
What Is Kids Ministry Curriculum, Really?
Kids ministry curriculum is the material a church uses to teach children on Sunday mornings, midweek programs, or special events. Strip away the marketing language and it answers two questions every volunteer asks the night before: what do I teach, and how do I teach it. Providers package that answer differently, some as a full kit, some as a bare-bones outline, but the underlying job is the same.
What a curriculum package typically includes
- Lesson plan: the teaching script, the big idea, and the application point for the week
- Teaching helps: an object lesson, discussion questions, and a memory verse
- Activities: crafts, games, and take-home pages
- Media: slides, videos, or music cues, on the providers that include them
Some providers bundle all of this into one purchase. Others sell pieces separately, and a church ends up stitching its own lesson together from a few different sources.
Weekly, annual, VBS, and take-home are not the same thing
Weekly curriculum is a single lesson built for the coming Sunday, with new content released on a rolling basis, week by week. Annual, or scope-and-sequence, curriculum maps a full year in advance, so a church buys or subscribes once and has 52 weeks of material on hand before the year even starts. VBS curriculum is a standalone kit built for a single themed week, usually sold apart from the regular weekly material and swapped in once a year. Take-home resources, devotionals or activity pages sent home with kids or parents, extend a lesson but are not a full lesson on their own. Most churches end up combining more than one of these at the same time: an annual scope-and-sequence for Sundays, and a separate VBS kit for summer, for example.
Why this matters more for a small church
This matters more for a small church than the curriculum industry tends to admit. There is usually no dedicated curriculum coordinator sorting through scope and sequence, no committee vetting theology line by line. One volunteer picks the curriculum for the whole year, often alone, based on whatever a previous leader left behind or whatever came up first in a search. Getting the category right, not just the specific provider, is what decides whether that volunteer spends Saturday night finishing a lesson, or starting one from scratch.
How to Choose the Right Curriculum for Your Church
There is no single best kids ministry curriculum. There is only the best fit for a specific church, and that fit comes down to five practical factors more than any provider’s marketing copy. Work through them roughly in this order and the list of realistic options gets short fast.
Church size
Under 50 kids on a Sunday, a single combined class is often more realistic than three age-specific curricula running in parallel, so look for a provider that supports a wide combined age range in one lesson. 50 to 150 kids is the range most curriculum, weekly and annual alike, is actually designed for, and where you have the most real choice. Above 150, dedicated staff and a bigger budget usually make sense, and a full scope-and-sequence annual curriculum with a training program attached tends to justify its cost.
Denominational fit
Non-denominational and cross-denominational churches generally have the widest field of options, since most curriculum is written to avoid denomination-specific doctrine by default. Baptist, Methodist, Reformed, and Pentecostal churches, and any church with a specific confessional statement, should check a curriculum’s doctrinal stance directly rather than assuming compatibility. Some publishers are explicitly aligned with a tradition, others are intentionally general, and a mismatch here shows up in the first lesson, not the fine print.
Budget
Under $500 a year usually means free or low-cost resources, a mix-and-match approach across a couple of sources, or a lean subscription. $500 to $2,000 a year covers most mid-tier weekly and annual subscriptions from established publishers, and is where the bulk of small to mid-size churches land. Above $2,000 a year typically buys a full annual scope-and-sequence with media, print materials, and a training or onboarding program included, and tends to make more sense once a church has paid staff to administer it.
Delivery format
Pre-built annual curriculum front-loads the planning: buy once, and the year is mapped out, which suits a church that wants predictability and does not want to think about curriculum again until next fall. Digital or streaming curriculum trades the physical kit for on-demand video and downloadable lesson guides, useful for a church already comfortable running media on a screen. On-demand generated curriculum, a newer category, builds a lesson at the moment a volunteer needs it from a verse or theme they choose, trading a year of advance planning for flexibility week to week.
Volunteer preparation time available
A volunteer with two or more hours a week can work from a bare-bones outline and build out the rest themselves, which opens up cheaper, lighter-weight options. Under two hours a week calls for a curriculum that arrives mostly finished: script, slides, and activities included, not just an outline. Near zero prep time, common in very small or newly-planted churches, usually means either a fully pre-packaged kit or an on-demand generated lesson, since both remove nearly all of the building work from the volunteer’s plate.
None of these five factors decide anything alone. A church of 60 with a strong volunteer team and two hours of prep time each week has very different needs than a church of 60 running almost entirely on a single overloaded volunteer. Use the comparison table below to see how the options on the market line up against your own answers to these five questions, then read the full reviews for the ones that fit.
Comparison Table
Every field below is sourced directly from each provider’s own public site. Anything in italic red could not be verified from a live page and should be confirmed before you rely on it.
Scroll right to see all columns on smaller screens.
| Provider | Format | Starting Price | Age Groups | Best For Church Size | Denomination Fit | Free Trial | Setup Complexity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lifeway Kids | Digital (Ministry Grid platform) + optional print | From $65/mo (Gospel Project for Kids, Basic, 1-50 kids) | Ages 6-12 (separate Preschool & Student lines) | VERIFY: not explicitly stated (pricing tiered 1-50 through 401+) | SBC-affiliated publisher; curricula marketed broadly evangelical | Yes, varies by line (3-4 free sessions to a 14-day trial for Hyfi) | Moderate: subscribe, share Collections with leaders via link or email invite, schedule sessions, optionally add co-admins |
| Brite Curriculum | Digital subscription (download / online portal) | From $450/yr (Preschool, 1-25 kids); $600/yr (Elementary, 1-25 kids) | Infant/toddler through Pre-K (Preschool line); K-5th grade (Elementary line) | VERIFY: not explicitly stated (pricing tiered 1-25 through unlimited) | Evangelical / gospel-centered (published by Awana); not denomination-specific | Yes, free sample lessons via a free account, no card required; a card is required only to purchase a paid subscription | Free account (email, name, birthday) to preview; full access requires linking a paid Awana.org/MyAwana subscription |
| David C Cook | Pre-built print + optional digital add-ons | VERIFY: sold a la carte per component/quarter (e.g. Teacher’s Guide from $15.99, Digital Bundle from ~$96-136/quarter); no single subscription price | Toddler through Grade 6 (age brackets vary by brand) | VERIFY: no specific size stated; brand pages use generic "works for churches of all sizes" language only | Non-denominational / broadly evangelical ("balanced theological perspective") | Yes, free sample lessons, no card required | VERIFY: no org-level setup process described; "Ministry Consultants" help choose a brand, not implement it |
| Wonder Ink | Digital platform (videos, slides, downloadable/printable, works offline) | $397/yr (Early Childhood only, 1-25 kids) up to $2,497/yr (both age groups, 501+ kids) | VERIFY: Early Childhood upper bound inconsistent across their own pages (3-5 vs. 3-6); K-5th/preteen (Elementary); separate Nursery resource | VERIFY: not explicitly stated, markets itself as fitting "churches of all sizes" via tiered pricing | Non-denominational content, follows David C Cook's own interdenominational Statement of Faith; the Wesleyan Church's publishing arm markets itself as a launch partner and earns referral revenue on its own link, a relationship David C Cook's own materials never mention | Yes, free 4-week series, no card required | Admin-approved user invites, Admin/Viewer roles, no limit on number of users; overall ease of onboarding not stated |
| GO! Curriculum | Digital/downloadable (editable lesson files) + video lessons | From $525/yr (Preschool Basic) or $725/yr (Elementary Basic), per campus | Ages 3-5 (Preschool); VERIFY: Elementary listed as K-5th on their own Scope & Sequence product page, but K-6th on their Curriculum Hub page | All sizes, per their own marketing ("five kids or five hundred") | Non-denominational / evangelical, interdenominational Statement of Faith; markets use across 35+ denominations in 17 countries on 6 continents | Free account (email only, no card required) unlocks full sample lessons and videos; VERIFY: no stated time limit found, may be an ongoing free tier rather than a time-limited trial | VERIFY: no onboarding/setup process described anywhere on their site; lessons are editable Word files requiring manual customization |
| Children's Ministry Deals | Digital downloads + some printed books; video content | VERIFY: sale/regular pricing display could not be reconfirmed live; a VBS curriculum product was found priced flat at $125 with no visible discount; separate $297/yr PLUS membership exists but enrollment runs in seasonal windows (closed as of this check) | Preschool, Elementary, Preteen, Youth | VERIFY: not stated anywhere checked (about-us, subscription, FAQ, homepage) | Non-denominational / general evangelical (no specific denomination stated) | No subscription free trial; free sample lessons + a 30-day money-back guarantee on one-time purchases (PLUS membership refunds instead step down by quarter already delivered) | Individual purchases are retrieved via an order-history/download page; PLUS membership materials arrive by email in quarterly installments; no dedicated onboarding walkthrough is described beyond that |
| Lift Curriculum | Digital downloads only (no print) | $297/yr or $39/mo, flat regardless of church size | Ages 1-5 (Preschool) and ages 6-10 (Elementary) | All sizes; pricing is explicitly flat regardless of attendance | Non-denominational / Christ-centered evangelical | VERIFY: two different offers coexist, a 30-day trial on the main membership page that requires payment info and auto-bills after 30 days, and a separate no-card "one free month" offer at fun.liftcurriculum.com that never discloses what happens after the month ends | Low, per their FAQ ("instant access upon signup") |
| Ministry-To-Children | Free downloadable/printable PDFs; paid bundles via an affiliated store | Core library is free; paid bundles from ~$97 (sale) up to a $297 lifetime pass | Nursery (ages 0-1) through Preteen (ages 11-12) | Small churches; explicitly branded for this, adaptable to combined one-room teaching | Broadly evangelical / non-denominational; content checked against the Baptist Faith & Message (2000) | N/A, core resources are free; free sample packs offered for the paid bundles | Low; direct print-and-teach PDF downloads, no account described |
| Group Publishing (Two or More) | Pre-built print + digital (leader guide + digital download center access) | $44/quarter (Digital Only) or $49/quarter (Print + Digital), per track; a Combo Pack bundling both the All-Kids-Together and Preschool tracks runs $69-74/quarter | Ages 3-12 taught together as one combined group; optional separate Preschool guide | Under 20 kids on a typical Sunday, per their own stated positioning | No denominational affiliation or statement of faith found anywhere on Group Publishing's site; positions itself via its "R.E.A.L." (Relational, Experiential, Applicable, Lifelong) philosophy, broadly evangelical in tone | Free sample lessons, a downloadable Scope & Sequence, and a Preview Guide, all via request/download, no card; not a subscription product, so no time-limited trial applies | Low, per the product page: no teams or pairs required, uses everyday supplies, undated lessons usable on any schedule; the Print + Digital access code unlocks the Digital Download Center to print/share with volunteers; no formal onboarding walkthrough beyond that |
| SundayReady | AI-generated (on-demand) | Free trial (3 lesson credits), then $19/mo (Essentials) or $39/mo (Complete) | PreK-K, Lower Elementary, Upper Elementary | 50-200 attendees (volunteer-led kids ministry) | Non-denominational, cross-denominational (you control the doctrinal framing) | Yes, no credit card required | Low (a complete lesson generates in under 20 minutes) |
In-Depth Look at Each Option
Every option here, including SundayReady, has real strengths and real trade-offs. Here is the honest version of each, not the version their own marketing leads with.
Lifeway Kids
Visit site ↗Lifeway Kids is the children's ministry curriculum division of Lifeway Christian Resources, a Southern Baptist Convention entity. Rather than one product, it publishes four distinct lines: The Gospel Project for Kids, a chronological, gospel-centered narrative, Bible Studies for Life: Kids, application-focused, Explore the Bible Kids, book-by-book study, and Hyfi, a fully digital, identity-focused curriculum. It suits a church that wants an established publisher's production value and is willing to compare a few different curricular philosophies before choosing one.
- +Decades of publishing experience and four genuinely different teaching approaches to pick from
- +Digital delivery through Lifeway's Ministry Grid platform, with optional print Leader Packs
- +Every line offers a free preview, from a few sample sessions up to a 14-day trial for Hyfi
- −Four separate products can make the initial choice more confusing than a single curriculum line
- −Pricing is tiered by stated ministry size and scales quickly, Hyfi starts at $119 a month for 1 to 50 kids
- −No guidance anywhere on the site for which line or tier fits a given church size, pricing tiers are the only signal
Brite Curriculum
Visit site ↗Brite is a Sunday-morning children's curriculum published by Awana, covering ages from infants through 5th grade across two separate product lines, Brite Preschool and Brite Elementary, sold independently. It follows a chronological, monthly-themed scope and sequence and is delivered as a digital subscription, downloadable files and an online portal rather than a physical kit.
- +Clear monthly themes and a chronological Bible arc that's easy for volunteers to follow
- +Free single-month samples let a church try it before subscribing
- +Supports multiple ministry formats, classroom-style or large-group and small-group
- −Preschool and Elementary are priced and purchased separately, so a full-range church pays for both
- −Subscriptions auto-renew annually with no refund for unused time, per Awana's terms of use
- −No explicit recommendation for which church size the subscription suits best, cost is driven entirely by kid count
David C Cook
Visit site ↗David C Cook is a Christian nonprofit publisher, founded in 1875, that sells a portfolio of separate pre-written curriculum brands for children's ministry, chiefly Bible-in-Life, Gospel Light, and HeartShaper, plus Echoes, aimed at African American congregations, alongside several Group Publishing partner lines. Materials are primarily print, quarterly teacher's guides, student books, craft books, take-home papers, purchased per age group per quarter, with optional digital add-ons.
- +Long publishing history with multiple theologically balanced, non-denominational brand options
- +Free sample lessons, no card required, to try before buying
- +A dedicated "Fit Finder" tool and ministry consultants to help a church choose the right brand
- −Sold a la carte per component per quarter rather than as one subscription, so total cost is hard to predict upfront
- −No specific church-size recommendation, brand pages only say they "work for churches of all sizes"
- −Choosing among several brand names, Bible-in-Life versus Gospel Light versus HeartShaper, takes some research
Wonder Ink
Visit site ↗Wonder Ink is a fully digital children's curriculum published by David C Cook, built around a rolling 3-year, 52-week plan where every age group studies the same Bible story each week. It covers Early Childhood, Elementary through preteen, plus a Nursery resource, with lessons available in 30, 60, or 75-minute formats.
- +Bible-story and worship videos, integrated slides, and printable materials that also work offline
- +Free 4-week trial with no credit card required
- +A 90-day satisfaction guarantee and a flexible installment billing option
- −Pricing scales with the number of kids served and by which age groups you license, and can reach $2,497 a year at the largest tier
- −Requires an account with admin-approved user invites for volunteers, teachers, and parents
- −The Wesleyan Church's publishing arm bills itself as a co-launch partner and earns referral revenue on its own link, a relationship David C Cook's own site never mentions
GO! Curriculum
Visit site ↗GO! Curriculum, published by Go Tell It LLC, is a subscription-based, downloadable children's curriculum for Preschool, ages 3 to 5, and Elementary, kindergarten through 5th grade, some of their own pages extend this to 6th. Lessons are customizable Word files supplemented by produced video series, and the company markets itself explicitly as fitting churches of any size, from five kids to five hundred, across more than 35 denominations.
- +Explicitly designed to scale from very small to very large ministries, marketed as fitting "five kids or five hundred"
- +A free account, email address only, no card required, unlocks full sample lessons and videos with no stated time limit found
- +Offers a need-based scholarship or assistance program for churches that can't afford the subscription
- −Lesson files require manual customization rather than arriving fully finished
- −No onboarding or setup process is described anywhere on their site
- −Refunds step down over time, 75 percent within 31 days, 50 percent within 90 days, none after, and subscriptions auto-renew unless cancelled
Children's Ministry Deals
Visit site ↗Children's Ministry Deals is a children's ministry curriculum publisher, despite the marketplace-sounding name, owned by Salem Church Products, a division of Salem Media Group. It produces original content in-house, over 100 Bible-based packages, for Preschool, Elementary, Preteen, and Youth, sold individually, as VBS kits, or through a seasonal PLUS membership.
- +Large catalog spanning kids through youth ministry under one publisher
- +Free sample lessons and a stated 30-day money-back guarantee on one-time purchases
- +An optional $297-a-year PLUS membership bundles a full year of new curriculum when enrollment is open
- +A KJV-specific curriculum collection exists for churches that require that translation
- −Pricing display could not be reconfirmed as promotional on a live check, a VBS curriculum product was priced flat at $125 with no visible sale price
- −The $297-a-year PLUS membership is not open for enrollment year-round, it runs in seasonal windows and was closed as of this check
- −No church-size recommendation is described publicly
- −The name implies a deals marketplace, which can create confusion about what the product actually is
Lift Curriculum
Visit site ↗Lift Curriculum is a Christ-centered children's curriculum sold as an all-access digital membership, covering Preschool, ages 1 to 5, and Elementary, ages 6 to 10. For one flat price, members get lesson plans, animated Bible story videos, worship and game videos, teaching slides, crafts, and VBS content, all built around a shared weekly theme across ages.
- +Single flat price with no tiers based on how many kids attend, unusual in this category
- +A broad content bundle, videos, slides, and print-ready materials, in one membership
- +Their FAQ states instant access to the library upon signup, and members can cancel anytime and keep access through the period already paid for
- −Digital downloads only, no print materials for churches that prefer physical kits
- −Two different free offers appear on their site with different terms, a 30-day trial on the main site that requires payment info and auto-bills, and a separate no-card one-month offer that never discloses what happens after the month ends
- −No stated recommendation for church size beyond the flat-pricing claim itself
Ministry-To-Children
Visit site ↗Ministry-To-Children is a long-running, free children's ministry resource site, founded in 2007, offering thousands of downloadable lessons, crafts, games, and sermon outlines for nursery through preteen ages. It explicitly brands part of its library for small churches and combined, one-room teaching settings, and links to a separate affiliated storefront, The Sunday School Store, for paid bundles.
- +Core content is genuinely free, no account, subscription, or trial required
- +Explicitly built with small-church, single-volunteer realities in mind
- +Content is reviewed against a stated doctrinal guardrail while remaining broadly cross-denominational
- +Still actively maintained, current bundles and sample packs are live on the storefront
- −Free content is hand-authored and static rather than customized to a church's specific verse, translation, or class size
- −The relationship between the free site, the paid Sunday School Store, and a newer subscription product called Sunday School Plus is only partially explained, they read as affiliated properties under the same ministry rather than one clearly unified structure
- −Paid-tier pricing for Sunday School Plus could not be confirmed as current, its own site returned an error at the time of research, so it may not be reliably live
Group Publishing (Two or More)
Visit site ↗Two or More is a print-plus-digital curriculum from Group Publishing, now part of Cook Media Global alongside David C Cook, purpose-built for churches seeing fewer than 20 kids on a typical Sunday. Rather than adapting a large-group curriculum down, lessons are written from the outset for a small, mixed-age group, ages 3 to 12, learning the same Bible story together, with an optional separate guide for splitting out preschoolers. The curriculum spans five quarters across two years.
- +Explicitly designed for very small, mixed-age classrooms rather than retrofitted from a bigger program
- +A simple quarterly purchase, with no ongoing subscription commitment
- +Low-prep by design, no teams or pairs required, uses everyday supplies, and lessons are undated so they fit any schedule
- +Free sample lessons, a downloadable Scope & Sequence, and a Preview Guide are all available before purchasing
- −Costs recur every quarter rather than as a single annual or flat fee
- −Buying both the combined-kids and preschool-only tracks as a Combo Pack costs roughly 50 percent more per quarter than a single track, not double
- −No stated denominational affiliation was found on their site, though the tone reads broadly evangelical
SundayReady
SundayReady is an AI-generated children's ministry curriculum. Instead of choosing from a pre-written scope and sequence, a volunteer enters a Bible verse or theme and gets a complete lesson package back, a lesson plan, slides, word search, and coloring sheet, generated on demand for up to three age groups. It's built specifically for small, volunteer-led churches with limited prep time.
- +Near-zero prep time, a full lesson package generates in under 20 minutes
- +Flexible week to week, with no need to commit to a year of material in advance
- +A free trial with 3 lesson credits, no credit card required
- −A newer product without the decade-plus track record of established publishers
- −AI-generated content still benefits from a volunteer's review before teaching, and some leaders are understandably cautious about AI in ministry contexts
- −Some ministries genuinely prefer a physical, pre-built annual curriculum they can hold and plan a year around, which this is not
New Category: AI-Generated Curriculum
A new category has emerged in kids ministry curriculum over the past couple of years: AI-generated, on-demand curriculum. Rather than choosing from a pre-written scope and sequence, a volunteer enters a Bible verse or theme and a complete lesson package generates in minutes. It is different enough from both pre-built print curriculum and hand-authored free resources that it deserves its own place in this comparison, not a footnote under “digital.”
What on-demand generated curriculum actually is
Where a pre-built curriculum locks in a scope and sequence months or years in advance, an AI-generated lesson is created at the moment a volunteer needs it, built from a verse or theme they choose rather than one a publisher chose for them. The output is typically a full package, a lesson plan, teaching slides, and activity pages, generated together rather than assembled from separate purchases. This trades a year of advance planning for week-to-week flexibility, roughly the opposite tradeoff of an annual scope-and-sequence curriculum.
Who it’s best for
This format tends to fit churches with very little advance planning time: a volunteer who picked up the role a week before Sunday, a lesson that needs to respond to something happening in the congregation right now, or a small church that cannot justify a full annual subscription for a class of eight kids. It fits less well for a church that wants a structured, publisher-vetted year-long arc it does not have to think about, or a ministry that prefers physical materials to digital ones.
SundayReady, the category leader today
SundayReady is currently the most established option built specifically around this model for kids ministry, generating a lesson plan, slides, word search, and coloring sheet from a single verse or theme, for up to three age groups, in one pass. See what a generated lesson actually looks like for John 3:16 or Jeremiah 29:11, or see full plan pricing. It is one option among many in this guide, not a replacement for pre-built curriculum as a whole. Most churches will still find real value in a scope-and-sequence line from a publisher like Lifeway or David C Cook, and this guide is not arguing otherwise.
Addressing the real concerns
Theological accuracy. AI models can make mistakes, so every SundayReady lesson includes a direct scripture verification link, and the leader is expected to review content before teaching it, the same practice a careful teacher applies to any purchased curriculum.
AI in ministry generally. This is a fair hesitation, not a fringe one. The tool handles formatting and structure; the volunteer still decides what gets said out loud and how it gets framed for their specific kids.
Editing needs. Generated files are standard Word and PowerPoint documents, fully editable, not locked templates, so a leader can adjust wording, add local context, or cut anything that does not fit.
Sustainability. This is a genuinely new category, unproven over the decade-plus track record that Lifeway or David C Cook can point to. A church weighing that tradeoff should know it going in.
For more on how SundayReady works day to day, see the full product FAQ.
Frequently Asked Questions
Ready to see how AI-generated curriculum works?
See a real SundayReady lesson generated in under 2 minutes. Free trial, no credit card required.